The State Congress


The State Congress, coordinated by the Captains Regent, wields power of government according to principles of collectiveness and responsibility. This state body was established by law on 15 May 1945. Constitutional Law no. 183, dated 15 December 2005, indicates and regulates its powers, while Law no. 184 dated 15 December 2005 regulates its organisation and operation, identifying eligibility requirements, appointment procedures, the incompatibility and removal from office of its members. Law no.184/2005 also regulates normal administration.

The Congress consists of 10 Secretaries of State in charge of the various departments of the public administration. The members of the State Congress are appointed by the Great and General Council, normally from among its members.

Starting in the 26th Legislature, the possibility has been envisaged of appointing Secretaries of State - with the majority vote of two thirds of the members of the Great and General Council - who must account for not more than one third of the members of the State Congress, and can also be non-members of the Great and General Council, as long as they have the requisites needed to be elected Councillors. After being sworn in, the State Congress becomes fully operative.

The term of office of a Secretary of State cannot exceed 10 consecutive years and, before any subsequent appointment, at least five years must have passed since the end of the previous one. The delegation of power to the single Secretaries is flexible. The body ceases operating if the majority of the members resign or if the Council resolves to revoke the appointments of all the members.

The Congress is in fact politically responsible to the Great and General Council. The discontinuance of the Congress does not imply early elections. The Congress is chaired by the two Captains Regent, who are not entitled to vote, but simply coordinate, direct and prompt proceedings and represent a link with the legislative body.

For more info visit the website